The course is divided into two learning and teaching units:

Unit 1: Parenthood, Pregnancy & Childbirth

(written paper – 20%) (Year 11)

  • Parenthood and responsibilities
  • Pregnancy
  • Healthy diet and lifestyle in pregnancy
  • Birth

Unit 2: Child Development (0-5 years)

(written paper – 20%)      (Year 12)

  • The newborn baby
  • Physical development of the child up to five years old
  • Intellectual development of the child up to five years old
  • The social and emotional development of a child up to five years
  • Child care provision and sources of support available
  • Safety, first aid and childhood diseases
  • Choosing clothes and shoes for young children
  • Weaning and dietary needs of the child.

Assessment takes the form two controlled assessments:


Unit 3: Controlled Assessment Investigation Task (40%)                      

(Year 12)

  • Task analysis activity;
  • Research-based activity;
  • Planning and carrying out primary investigation; and
  • Evaluation activity.

Unit 4: Controlled Assessment Short Task (20%)                            

 (Year 11)

  • Research-based activity;
  • Practical activity; and

Evaluation activity.